Please call (888) 441-KNOX (5669) or email firstname.lastname@example.org. Our staff is bilingual in English/Spanish.
Knox carries a full line of CBD and High-THC (medical marijuana) product line. We have Sativa’s, Indica’s and Hybrid products to for every possible medical or behavioral health condition.
We welcome all guests to stop by and visit our dispensaries- educational materials are available in the waiting area (Knox verandah). Patients with a valid Medical Marijuana Registry Card have full access to the waiting area (Knox verandah) as well as inside the dispensary (Knox atrium). If someone does not have a valid Medical Marijuana Registry Card, then they can only access the Knox verandah area.
Medical marijuana is the same as medical cannabis. The word “cannabis” and its constituent “cannabinoids” are the medical terms used to describe the treatment and improved symptoms or your qualifying medical or behavioral health condition.
Yes, while our CBD line remains the same in most States- our High-THC products will vary depending on the current laws of that applicable State. For example, Texas only allows CBD products while Florida, Pennsylvania and Puerto Rico have approved High-THC (medical marijuana) products.
Medical marijuana is only considered as an option for individuals with a qualified health condition(s) listed above (based on your residency in your applicable State).A licensed ordering medical marijuana physician must certify your health status and complete your application to your applicable state for a medical marijuana card. To find a physician in your State, please visit FIND A PHYSICIAN on your website to locate a medical marijuana physician near you. If you need additional assistance, please call Customer Service at (888) 441-KNOX (5669).
Your qualified medical marijuana ordering physician will determine the treatment plan and specific dosage for your specific condition(s).
The graph below represents an illustration of the best cannabis strains for your qualified health condition.
NO your out-of-state medical marijuana card(s) will not be accepted in Florida, Texas or Pennsylvania.
Yes- your out-of-state medical marijuana card will be accepted in Puerto Rico, however you are required to have an office visit with a local medical marijuana ordering physician in PR before you can purchase medical cannabis.
Fees vary from State to State- so please visit your State’s website below.
Most States issue Registry cards for at least one year, however we recommend that you visit your State’s website below.
Please contact our Customer Service Department (888) 441-KNOX (5669) or email email@example.com and one of our Provider Engagement Manager s will be able to assist you.
Yes, physicians, law enforcement and elected government officials are allowed to tour our facilities. Please contact our Corporate Office or your Provider Engagement Manager to schedule a tour.
Unfortunately, patients are not allowed to tour our cultivation and processing centers, however you are welcomed to visit our dispensaries.
Please call (888) 441-KNOX (5669) or email firstname.lastname@example.org. Our staff is bilingual in English/Spanish. We’re here to assist you!
Low-THC cannabis means a plant of the genus Cannabis, the dried flowers of which contain 0.8 percent or less of tetrahydrocannabinol and more than 10 percent of cannabidiol weight for weight; the seeds thereof; the resin extracted from any part of such plant; or any compound, manufacture, salt, derivative, mixture, or preparation of such plant or its seeds or resin that is dispensed only from a dispensing organization. Low-THC cannabis contains very low amounts of the psychoactive compound THC, and typically does not result in the “high” often associated with medical cannabis.
Medical marijuana means all parts of any plant of the genus Cannabis, whether growing or not; the seeds thereof; the resin extracted from any part of the plant; and every compound, manufacture, sale, derivative, mixture, or preparation of the plant or its seeds or resin that is dispensed only from a dispensing organization for medical use by an eligible patient. Medical marijuana contains significant levels of the cannabinoid THC, and can result in the euphoric “high” sensation.
A marijuana delivery device is an object used, intended for use, or designed for use in preparing, storing, ingesting, inhaling, or otherwise introducing marijuana into the human body, and which is dispensed from a medical marijuana treatment center for medical use by a qualified patient.
Yes. Patients may find medical marijuana treatment centers in their area by clicking here. All medical marijuana treatment centers in Florida are authorized to deliver statewide. If you do not have a medical marijuana treatment center in your area, you may contact one of the businesses listed on the Department’s website to arrange for a delivery of low-THC cannabis, medical marijuana, or a marijuana delivery device.
Patients suffering from the following conditions:
Patients suffering from the following conditions:
A list of physicians authorized to order low-THC cannabis, medical marijuana or marijuana delivery devices for patients is located on the Patient’s tab on the Office of Medical Marijuana Use website. That information can be found here.
Yes. A physician may only order low-THC cannabis or medical marijuana if he or she holds an active, unrestricted license as a physician under Chapter 458, Florida Statutes or an osteopathic physician under Chapter 459, Florida Statutes.
Additionally, a qualifying physician must have successfully completed a 2-hour continuing education course and examination. Renewal of the 2-hour course and subsequent examination is required each time the physician renews his or her medical license. A link to the course and examination is available on the Physician’s tab located on the Office of Medical Marijuana Use website. This information can be found here.
A medical director must hold an active, unrestricted license as a physician under Chapter 458, Florida Statutes or as an osteopathic physician under Chapter 459, Florida Statutes. They must also complete a 2-hour continuing education course and examination. A link to the course and examination is available on the For Physician’s tab located on the Office of Medical Marijuana Use website.
Click here to access the list of approved medical marijuana treatment centers.
A qualified patient must first seek treatment from a qualified physician. A qualified physician must input the patient into the Medical Marijuana Use Registry. Once the physician inputs the patient’s information, the patient must apply and be approved for a medical marijuana use identification card. Once approved, patients must go to or seek delivery from an approved MMTC.
Medical marijuana treatment centers may only provide low-THC cannabis, medical marijuana or a marijuana delivery device to a qualified patient or a qualified patient’s legal representative.
Florida law defines a caregiver as a resident of Florida who has agreed to assist with a qualified patient’s medical use of marijuana, has a caregiver identification card, and meets all requirements under Florida law.
A caregiver must:
A caregiver may not:
No. Physicians may only order low-THC cannabis or medical marijuana for patients diagnosed with one of the qualifying conditions or conditions of like kind and class.
Qualifying physicians can order no more than a 70-day supply and a marijuana delivery device needed by the patient for the medical use of low-THC cannabis or medical marijuana.
Yes. Low-THC cannabis and medical marijuana must be processed within an enclosed structure away from other plants and products. Medical Marijuana Treatment Centers are required to test the processed low-THC cannabis and medical marijuana before they are dispensed. The results must be verified and signed by two employees of the MMTC. The MMTC must reserve two processed samples from each batch and retain them for at least nine months.
Cannabis test results must indicate that low-THC cannabis meets the definition of low-THC cannabis and that all medical and low-THC cannabis is safe for human consumption and free from contaminants.
The MMTC must also contract with an independent testing laboratory to perform audits on the MMTC’s standard operating procedures, testing records and samples.
Packaging of the marijuana in compliance with the United States Poison Prevention Packaging Act of 1970, 15 U.S.C. ss. 1471 et seq. They should be packaged in a receptacle that has a firmly affixed and legible label stating the following information:
The required 2-hour course and examination is offered by the Florida Medical Association and the Florida Osteopathic Medicine Association and can be found here. The updated course became available on September 28, 2017.
Yes. The required 2-hour course and examination is now offered by the Florida Medical Association and the Florida Osteopathic Medicine Association. The course became available on September 28, 2017. If you previously took the 8-hour course, you have 90 days from the time the 2-hour course became available to complete the new educational requirements. All physicians must complete the updated course by December 26, 2017.
You are required to provide the documentation within 14 days after issuing the certification. The documentation must provide the information required by statute. Right now, a qualified physician must mail the documentation to the Board of Medicine or the Board of Osteopathic Medicine. Those addresses are available on the boards’ websites. There is no specific format required for the documentation but, to assist physicians in complying with the law, the boards have created a form for providing the documentation. The form will be adopted by emergency rule and soon be available on the boards’ websites.
Chapters 458 and 459, Florida Statutes, provide for licenses that are limited to a particular geographic or practice location in the state of Florida. For example one restriction is to an area of critical need the purpose of which is to increase the physician workforce to assist patients living in economically challenged and health professional shortage areas with getting care and treatment. With the exception of a physician licensed under section 458.3115 or 458.3124, Florida Statutes, there are no “restricted” licenses.
Section 381.986(1)(m), Florida Statutes, defines a qualified physician for purposes of ordering medical marijuana as an allopathic or osteopathic physician with an active, unrestricted license who is in compliance with the educational requirements of that chapter. It appears that the legislative intent was to allow only a physician with a clear, active license to order medical marijuana and to prevent a physician with an obligation, condition, or restriction imposed on the license either voluntarily, or through a disciplinary or other review process from qualifying.
If that is the case, the use of the term “unrestricted” in chapter 381 was not intended to exclude physicians with otherwise clear active licenses as contemplated by chapters 458 and 459, Florida Statutes, from being able to order medical marijuana for his or her patients. Licenses issued to physicians under any of the “limited” or “restricted” categories found in chapters 458 and 459, Florida Statutes, such as those set out below, are limited in geography or practice location, not patients or services.
Medical Doctor Public Psychiatry Certificate
Medical Doctor Public Health Certificate
Medical Doctor Limited to Mayo Clinic
Medical Doctor Limited to Cleveland Clinic
Medical Doctor Limited License
Medical Doctor Temporary Area of Critical Need
Medical Faculty Certificate
Medical Doctor Visiting Faculty Certificate
Medical Doctor Resident Registration/House Physician
Osteopathic Resident Registration
Osteopath Limited License
Osteopath Faculty Certificate
Osteopathic Temporary Area of Critical Need
The law requires that qualified physicians may only issue a certification if they conduct a physical examination while physically present in the same room as the patient and a full assessment of the medical history. A certification may not be issued through telemedicine.
The standardized consent form adopted by the Board of Medicine and the Board of Osteopathic Medicine is available on their websites. Qualified physicians are required to use this consent form each time they issue a certification for medical marijuana.
The Florida Medical Association reports course completion to the department’s continuing education tracking system within 30 days of you completing the course. Once this information is available in the tracking system, the indicator with appear on the License Verification Site within 24 hours.
If a physician does not want the “Authorized to Order” indicator to appear on the MQA License Verification and Practitioner Profile websites at https://appsmqa.doh.state.fl.us/MQASearchServices/Home, they will need to contact Licensure Support Services to indicate that they have opted out of ordering. The request must be made in writing or email to:
Mail: Department of Health
Division of Medical Quality Assurance
Licensing Support Services
4052 Bald Cypress Way, Bin# C10
Tallahassee, FL 32399-3260
As of December 15, 2017, the department has issued three dispensing organization licenses: Cansortium Texas was licensed on September 1, 2017; Compassionate Cultivation was licensed on October 31, 2017; and Surterra Texas was licensed on December 15, 2017. When the organizations are open for business is dependent on how quickly they can cultivate and process their product.
Texas Occupations Code Sec. 169.001 defines “Low-THC Cannabis” as the plant Cannabis sativa L., and any part of that plant or any compound, manufacture, salt, derivative, mixture, preparation, resin, or oil of that plant that contains:
not more than 0.5 percent by weight of tetrahydrocannabinols; and
not less than 10 percent by weight of cannabidiol.
The Compassionate Use Program is statutorily limited to patients in Texas with intractable epilepsy. Adding conditions will require legislative action.
This was based on an analysis of other states’ compassionate–use programs, the number of patients in Texas with intractable epilepsy, and statutory requirements. Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter 487 requires that the department issue at least three licenses but no more than the number of licenses necessary to ensure reasonable statewide access to – and availability of – low-THC cannabis for patients prescribed low-THC cannabis under Chapter 169, Occupations Code. A decision to increase the number will be made if and when it is determined that more licenses are required in order to ensure reasonable statewide access.
The dispensing organizations’ employees will be delivering prescriptions, as well as potentially filling prescriptions over the counter. You may wish to contact the conditionally approved dispensing organizations to determine their specific delivery approach.
No. Only licensed dispensers will be able grow cannabis and only for use in the production of low-THC cannabis. Patients are required to purchase low-THC cannabis products from a licensed dispensing organization.
No. Texas Occupations Code §169.001 specifically excludes smoking from the definition of “medical use.”.
Texas Health and Safety Code §481.111(e)(1) provides exemptions from state laws prohibiting possession of marijuana for patients (and their legal guardians) for whom low-THC cannabis is prescribed under a valid prescription from a dispensing organization.
Texas Health & Safety Code §481.111(e)(2) provides the statutory guidelines for what dispensing organizations are legally authorized to possess.
Complaints regarding dispensing organizations may be submitted through the Compassionate Use Program Contact Us or by mail. For complaints regarding Physicians, please contact their respective medical board.
The Texas Compassionate Use Act specifically limits the use of low-THC cannabis to patients with intractable epilepsy.
A patient may be prescribed low-THC cannabis if:
No. Statute does not require patients to register or pay a fee. Patient information will be retained in the Compassionate Use Registry. A qualified physician will enter a patient’s information into the Compassionate Use Registry.
Statute places no limitations on the age of the patient. Patients under 18 may require a legal guardian.
Patients must be permanent Texas residents.
Prices will be set by the licensed dispensing organizations, based on the market. DPS does not regulate the cost of the product.
As dispensing organizations become licensed, a list will be posted on Compassionate Use Program Licensing & Registration.
Yes. Physicians will be required to document the names and last 5 of SSN of legal guardians in the Compassionate Use Registry. Patients or legal guardians will be required to show proof of identification to the dispensing organization.
No, SB 339 only authorizes the possession of low-THC cannabis that is obtained through a prescription issued by a physician registered with the CUP program.
Texas Health and Safety Code Ch 487 requires the department license at least three dispensing organizations, provided at least three applicants have met the statutory requirements.
Texas Health and Safety Code Ch.487 regulates the cultivation, processing, and dispensing of low-THC cannabis and does not specifically address the licensing of low-THC cannabis testing laboratories. Only licensed dispensing organizations may test low-THC products.
Yes, Administrative Rule 12.7(n) states:
(n) All regulated premises shall be located at least 1000 feet from any private or public school or day care center that existed prior to the date of initial license application, measured from the closest points on the respective property lines.
Texas Health and Safety Code Sec. 487.201 COUNTIES AND MUNICIPALITIES MAY NOT PROHIBIT LOW-THC CANNABIS. A municipality, county, or other political subdivision may not enact, adopt, or enforce a rule, ordinance, order, resolution, or other regulation that prohibits the cultivation, production, dispensing, or possession of low-THC cannabis, as authorized by this chapter.
Physician qualifications are outlined in the Texas Compassionate Use Act §169.002.
The Compassionate Use Registry of Texas (CURT) is the systems that allow physicians to register and prescribe “Low-THC” cannabis to patients with intractable epilepsy. Once prescribed, dispensing organizations search the patient in the system and dispense the medication.
Physicians who qualify under Texas Compassionate Use Act §169.002 and would like to prescribe “Low-THC” cannabis for qualifying patients will need to register through CURT.
As of Sept. 1, 2017 the system is available to physicians and dispensing organizations 24 hours a day. Law Enforcement access is currently being built in the system and should be available soon.
Contact Regulatory Services Division for more information regarding the denial.
No. Only the registered practitioner is authorized to utilize the CURT account.
No. It is not necessary for the secondary physician to have contact with the patient. The primary physician can discuss the patient’s condition with secondary physician for approval.
The secondary physician will need to provide their CURT username to the primary physician. The primary physician will enter this information under the patient details.
The patient will need to contact their previous physician and ask to have the relationship terminated.
Patients do not need to register in CURT, nor will they need access to CURT. The physician will add the patient into CURT.
The physician will enter the prescription in the CURT system. Patient or legal guardian will then have the ability to go to any of the dispensaries to have the prescription filled. Patient or legal guardian will need to provide identification and patient’s last name, date of birth, and last 5 of social security number.
Ensure dispensing organization entered the information correct. If so, contact your doctor to ensure they entered the prescription information correctly.
Dispensing Organizations will need to submit RSD-52s for all employees. Once they are registered, the employee will be emailed a link to create their account in CURT.
Es el uso de la planta del Cannabis tipo Sativa, Indica o un hibrido de estas y sus cannabinoides como THC, CBD, entre otros, como una alternativa terapéutica paliativa para ciertas condiciones debilitantes.
Los médicos que recomiendan el uso de Cannabis Medicinal son los que están certificados por el Departamento de Salud. Ver médicos
Toda persona residente en el Estado Libre Asociado de Puerto Rico que sea mayor de 21 años, encargada de realizar las gestiones necesarias para viabilizar el uso médico del Cannabis por un paciente cualificado que tenga a su cargo, se le requiere que obtenga la licencia del departamento de Salud para realizar esta encomienda. Tiene que poseer una tarjeta de identificación vigente para poder cuidar al paciente cualificado.
Se puede recomendar el Cannabis Medicinal para menores de 21 años, siempre y cuando cumpla con los siguientes requisitos, según el Reglamento 8766, Artículo 11
El Reglamento 8766 autoriza a Médicos Autorizados por el Departamento de Salud a recomendar el uso del Cannabis Medicinal para el tratamiento de las siguientes condiciones:
Luego de una evaluación médica, si el médico autorizado determina que usted sufre de una condición debilitante, según definida por el Reglamento 8766 y que se beneficiaría de tratamiento con cannabis medicinal, él o ella le harán una recomendación por escrito para el uso de cannabis medicinal. Esta recomendación NO es una receta.
Primero debe de ir a donde un médico autorizado a recomendar el uso de cannabis medicinal. Luego de una evaluación médica, si el médico determina que usted sufre de una condición debilitante, según definida por el Reglamento 8766 y que se beneficiaría de tratamiento con cannabis medicinal, él o ella le harán una recomendación por escrito para el uso de cannabis medicinal.
Luego de obtener su recomendación, deberá solicitar una Tarjeta de Identificación de Cannabis Medicinal y de aplicar, una Tarjeta de Identificación de Acompañante Autorizado en la Oficina de Sustancias Controladas y Cannabis Medicinal. El formulario para esta solicitud está disponible en nuestra página de web: http://www.salud.gov.pr. Tanto el formulario de Tarjeta de Identificación de Cannabis Medicinal como el formulario Tarjeta de Identificación de Acompañante Autorizado deben de ser notariados.
Junto al formulario, el paciente y de aplicar, su acompañante autorizado deberán someter en persona los siguientes documentos a la Oficina de Sustancias Controladas y Cannabis Medicinal:
En caso de Paciente Menor
En caso de Acompañante Autorizado
Una vez tenga todos los documentos requeridos según apliquen, deberá entregarlos en persona en la Oficina de Sustancias Controladas y Cannabis Medicinal ubicada en el 3er piso del edificio 1506 Ave. Ponce de León en Santurce.
Tanto la Tarjeta de Identificación de Paciente y de Tarjeta de Identificación de Acompañante Autorizado tienen una vigencia de un año, a menos que la recomendación médica disponga de un término menor.
Los Pacientes solamente pueden comprar Cannabis Medicinal en un dispensario debidamente licenciado por el Departamento De Salud.
Según las disposiciones del Reglamento 8766, los pacientes de cannabis medicinal solamente podrán consumir cannabis medicinal en la privacidad de sus hogares o en aquellos lugares privados donde sus dueños autoricen al paciente a consumir cannabis medicinal. El uso de cannabis medicinal está prohibido en lugares públicos.
Los únicos medios autorizados para consumir productos medicinales que contienen cannabis son los siguientes:
Está prohibido fumar el cannabis medicinal.
Si el paciente o el acompañante autorizado pierde su tarjeta de identificación para uso de Cannabis Medicinal, el Reglamento 8766 establece que el paciente o acompañante autorizado le notificara al Departamento de Salud dentro de los diez (10) días siguientes a la fecha en que se le haya extraviado la misma. Además, dicho paciente cualificado o acompañante autorizado debe de presentar una querella ante la Policía de PR para alertar sobre la perdida de la Tarjeta de Identificación para uso de Cannabis Medicinal y notificar el número de querella al Departamento.
Para renovar la Tarjeta de Identificación para Uso de Cannabis Medicinal, el paciente cualificado o el acompañante autorizado en representación de este, tendrá que presentar anualmente una nueva recomendación médica de su médico autorizado, que recomiende y autorice el uso del Cannabis Medicinal. La recomendación médica tendrá vigencia de (1) año. Esto al amparo del Reglamento 8766.
En el capítulo III en el artículo 17 del Reglamento 8766 indica que el médico del paciente cualificado notificara por escrito al Departamento que este ha dejado de sufrir una condición médica debilitante o que entiende que ya el paciente no recibirá beneficio terapéutico del uso médico del Cannabis. La tarjeta del paciente cualificado cesara de ser válida automáticamente desde el momento en el que se recibe dicha notificación. Todo médico que haga esta notificación deberá enviar inmediatamente la misma al paciente y al acompañante autorizado.
El Reglamento 8766 permite que Médicos que reúnen los siguientes requisitos puedan solicitar autorización para Recomendar el uso de Cannabis Medicinal en Puerto Rico:
¿Dónde puedo obtener el adiestramiento certificado por el Departamento de Salud sobre Cannabis Medicinal?
La Licencia para Recomendar Cannabis Medicinal que el Departamento de Salud le otorga a los Médicos tendrá una vigencia de 3 años.
Deberá someter todos los documentos en persona o mediante un representante autorizado por escrito a la Oficina de Sustancias Controladas y Cannabis Medicinal ubicada en el 3er piso del edificio 1506 Ave. Ponce de León, Santurce la cual tiene un horario de operación de 8:00a.m. a 4:30p.m. de lunes a viernes.
Deberá descargar y utilizar el formato de Recomendación de Cannabis Medicinal disponible en nuestra página de web: http://www.salud.gov.pr
La recomendación de Cannabis Medicinal tiene una vigencia de 1 año.
Todos los formularios relacionados al Cannabis Medicinal están disponibles en nuestra página de web: http://www.salud.gov.pr